The review of the Australian Curriculum

How does this affect the WACE syllabuses?

The Year 11 and 12 Western Australian syllabuses incorporate some of the general  structure associated with the approved senior secondary Australian Curriculum.

Typically syllabus statements include the following components:

  • A rationale
  • Aims
  • Organisation
  • Unit information including:
    • A unit description
    • Learning outcomes (objectives)
    • Unit content
  • School-based assessment
  • WACE examination (where relevant).

Consistent with the Australian Curriculum, the syllabuses include, within the Organisation section, reference to the seven general capabilities (literacy, numeracy, information and communication technology competence, critical and creative thinking, personal and social competence, ethical understanding and intercultural understanding) and three cross-curriculum priorities (Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and cultures, Asia and Australia's engagement with Asia, and sustainability). The general capabilities and cross-curriculum priorities are not applicable in all syllabuses and are identified within syllabus unit content as and when appropriate.

The unit information, specifically the unit content, identifies the expected student learning within each syllabus. The general capabilities and cross-curriculum priorities are not assessed unless they are identified within the specified unit content.

The Western Australian syllabuses for English, Mathematics, Science, History and Geography have adopted and adapted the approved Phase 1 senior secondary Australian Curriculum content into the relevant WACE ATAR and General courses.

The Australian Government has announced a Review of the Australian Curriculum. The report on the Review is due to be completed by 31 July 2014. Any changes that the Australian and Western Australian Governments may endorse as a result of the Review will be considered in the Western Australian syllabuses as part of our curriculum review cycle.