WACE Requirements

The Western Australian Certificate of Education (WACE) is awarded to senior secondary school students who satisfy its requirements. It is a senior secondary certificate recognised nationally in the Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF). Generally, students will complete two years of senior secondary study to achieve the WACE, although the School Curriculum and Standards Authority allows students to meet the WACE requirements over a lifetime.

The WACE is recognised by universities, industry and other training providers.

Achievement of a WACE signifies that a student has successfully met the breadth and depth standard, the achievement standard and English language competence requirements in their senior secondary schooling.

WACE Requirements for students completing Year 12 in 2016 and beyond

These are the minimum requirements for students to receive a Western Australian Certificate of Education (WACE) in 2016 and beyond.

Breadth and depth requirement

  • Completion of a minimum of 20 units or the equivalent. This requirement must include at least: (notes 1, 2 , 3, 4)
    • 10 units or the equivalent at Year 12
    • two Year 11 units from an English course and one pair of Year 12 units from an English course
    • one pair of units completed in Year 12 from each of List A (arts/languages/social sciences) and List B (mathematics/science/technology).

Achievement standard requirement

  • Achievement of at least 14 C grades or higher (or the equivalent) in Year 11 and 12 units, with a minimum of six C grades or the equivalent at Year 12. (notes 5 and 6)
  • Completion of at least four Year 12 ATAR courses or of a Certificate II (or higher) VET qualification.

Literacy and numeracy standard

  • Completion of at least four units of an English course post-Year 10 and studied over at least two years.
  • Demonstration of the minimum standard of literacy and numeracy. (notes 7 and 8)

Explanatory notes relating to WACE requirements – 2016 and beyond

  1. The breadth-and-depth requirement can be met through ATAR, General and Foundation courses. The achievement standard can be met through ATAR, General, VET industry specific and Foundation courses.
  2. Of the 20 units required for a WACE, up to a maximum of four Year 11 units and four Year 12 units may be substituted by VET qualifications and/or endorsed programs. A student may choose to study VET qualifications and/or endorsed programs and are able to substitute using only VET qualifications (up to a total of eight units) or using endorsed programs (up to a total of four units) or using a combination of VET and endorsed programs (up to a total of eight units but with a maximum of four units with endorsed programs – two in Year 11 and two in Year 12).
  3. Students are able to substitute the course unit requirement with unit equivalents achieved through the completion of AQF VET qualifications at Certificate I, II, III and higher (see Section 4 of the WACE Manual) and/or endorsed programs (see Section 5 of the WACE Manual).
  4. Students can repeat units. However, those units that have the same unit code, e.g. AEENG, and are repeated, do not contribute to the WACE requirements more than once.
  5. Students enrolled in a Year 12 ATAR course must sit the external examination in that course. If students do not sit an ATAR course examination and do not have an approved sickness/misadventure application for that course, the grades for the pair of units completed in that year will not contribute to the calculation of the achievement standard, but they will still count in the breadth-and-depth requirement. Students who do not sit the examination will not receive a course report.
  6. Both VET qualifications and endorsed programs can indirectly contribute to the WACE standard requirement of a C grade in at least 14 units. A C grade in a maximum of eight units (four in Year 11 and four in Year 12) can be replaced by unit equivalents from VET qualifications and/or endorsed programs. Of these eight unit equivalents, a maximum of four can be from endorsed programs (two in Year 11 and two in Year 12).
  7. The literacy and numeracy standard can be met either through the Online Literacy and Numeracy Assessment (OLNA) or by achieving Band 8 or above in the associated components of reading, writing or numeracy in the Year 9 NAPLAN tests. Students undertaking the OLNA will be required to satisfy both the reading and writing components in order to demonstrate the minimum WACE literacy standard.
  8. If students do not demonstrate the literacy and numeracy standard by the time they exit secondary school, they can apply to the Authority to re-sit the assessment at any age. (Note: The WACE requirements may change over time and students studying towards the achievement of the WACE after they leave school will be required to meet the WACE requirements current at the time of the completion of their studies.)

See Appendix 1 of the WACE Manual 2015–16 for definitions of key terms.

WACE Information for Year 10 students

Students, their parents and teachers, need to be aware of the requirements for achieving a WACE and consider them when planning their program of study. The requirements for 2016 and beyond differ from those in previous years.